Street Harrassment

Street Harrassment

Hi there, I realise I haven’t posted in a long time, but I am now turning over a new leaf and I fully intend on making more use of this blog!

I like to call myself a feminist, and yes, I have a boyfriend. I am in a happy relationship, with a man. So because I am a feminist, this doesn’t mean that I hate men.. Not at all. I never considered myself a feminist before I read Caitlin Moran’s book – How To Be A Woman. But she told me that we’re all feminists if we want to be. So I am. Anyway, as my first post on this blog of the new year, I would like to share with you, an article from Everyday Feminism, which really struck a few chords with me.

Street harrassment is something which affects everyone, no matter which country you live in. I’ve experienced it, and I could not be considered a “tease” in the way that I dress… Jeans, hoody, baggy tshirt, usually. Unless I’m going to a gym in which case the jeans are replaced with jogging bottoms. Definitely not teasing anyone there. The first time I experienced feeling uncomfortable, and harrassed, I was in town with my mum, I was wearing, as I’ve already said, jeans, tshirt and hoody. I think I was about 17 at the time. A guy rode past us on a bike, and as he rode past, he shouted at me, “NICE ARSE!” I have never felt so humiliated in all my life.

Anyway, that’s the first time it happened to me, it’s happened several times since, in different settings, but I don’t need to get into that. Without further ado, I would like to invite you to read this article that EF posted.

And thank you for reading my first post of 2014. This is the first time I’ve written anything in a while, so I know it’s not exactly the most fluid of pieces… Hopefully that will come back to me, the more I write over time :)

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

